Etymon and Polaroid

Don’t You Ever, Maria?

“Don’t you ever fall in love, Maria?”

I snickered.

“Of course, I do! In fact, I always do! I fall in love with every single person who had made me laugh like a lunatic. I fall in love with everyone who made me dance in the rain when I do not dance in the first place. I fall in love with the few people who can look me in the eyes. I have blank eyes, you see, they are somewhat dead even when I laugh. I fall in love with strangers who sit beside me in a bus ride, who smiled at me in the hallways, or helped me open the door to the coffee shop. And I fall in love with the wrong people. I fall in love with the mad ones, the ugly ones, the broken ones, the unlovable. Actually, if you would ask me what my greatest flaw is, that would be it.”

“What? That you always fall in love with the wrong ones?”

I smiled.

“No. That I always fall in love and I did nothing about it.”


Words by Maria

Painting entitled Summer Solitude by Deborah Bays

Standard

Leave a Reply

